Hall of Fame


Dan Mott – President – 1975, 76, 77, 78

The Dan Mott trophy was created in 1992 as recognition for contributions to the Club.

Max StuartPresident – 1979, 80, 81, 82, 86, 87, 88

The most capped President to date. An amiable persona who was also a very talented tennis player who loved to share a joke with everyone. Arranged many deals in the early years of the Club to ensure its survival.

John Barr – President – 1989, 90, 91, 92

A genial president who always wore a Club jacket at presentations creating an air of officialdom.

Harry BakerPresident – 1995, 96, 97, 98, 2005, 06

During Harry’s presidential terms new fairways were laid which resulted in vastly improved playing conditions. The bar area and locker room were renovated, and newsletters to members was introduced. Harry joined the Club in 1988, and with a great interest in history was heavily involved in a publication of the first 25 years of the Clubs history.

Peter Roche – President – 2002, 03, 04

Peter joined the Club in 1969 and was President when the first effluent water system was  used on the Course.

Peter and the Captain were the first to develop a five year strategy for Course development. During his tenure Peter was also very active in volunteer work improving the Course environs.

Alan Watson – President – 2007, 08, 09, 10

Alan joined the Club in 1994 and was the primary negotiator in the Glades swap deal. Whilst the development application failed and the deal died, the result of Alan’s negotiations saw the Club with full membership and a waiting list of 100, plus a balance in excess of $2m.

Craig Smith – President – 2011, 12, 13, 14, 15

Craig reinstated permanent staff for Course and Bistro, employed new General Manager to progress Club, including strategic planning initiatives. Undertook major infrastructure spending on irrigation, buggy shed and clubhouse upgrade including new roofs. Modernised Clubs electronic media, website and constitution. Craig joined the Club in 2000.

Phil Murphy President – 2015, 16, 17, 18, 19

Phil joined the Club in 2003 and is currently Club President.                                                                        

Michael Woodgate – Captain – 1977, 78, 79, 80, 81, 84                

Planted trees to define the dogleg on the 9th fairway, now infamously known as “ Woodgate’s Folly “

Rob HeaneyCaptain – 1982, 83, 85, 86

Rob was a very competent golfer, as highlighted by winning both the Match Play and A Grade Club championship in 1980.

Graeme Morrissey – Captain – 1998, 99, 2000, 11, 12, 13, 14

The most capped Captain of the Club after joining in 1988, and prior to 2001 was involved in the fairway’s planting of wintergreen and the connection to re-cycled water. Constructed bunkers on the 1st, 14th and 15th fairways.

Post 2010, the greens contractor was dismissed and greens staff only were employed. A complete watering system including pumps and filters replaced an aged and unreliable system. The 3rd green was constructed and the 8th green revamped. The practice nets were relocated to their current position. 

Boyd JohnsonClub Champion – 1997, 98, 2001, 02, 07, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16

Boyd is not only the most capped Club Champion, but was also Match Play Champion in 1998,99, 2001,09,13 and is still very capable of adding even more to his cabinet. Boyd has represented the Club over many years in Pennant and Inter-club events.

Don Reynolds

Don joined the Club in 1976 as a practicing solicitor and quickly became involved in Club matters including a tremendous contribution in the formation of the Clubs constitution. Acting as voluntary Club solicitor many issues such as  covering original tennis leases, Rhode Island development and Rick Baker contract renewal were negotiated.

Roly Soegaard

Player & Coach of pennant teams. Tireless worker planting reeds to prevent erosion on waterways, planting bromeliads throughout the course, and working bee participation. A highly regarded and well credentialed expert on golf rules. Roly now has a competition with his name immortalised for his tremendous contribution – The Roly Soegaard Cup.

Ralph Cohen

Ralph joined the Club in 1989 and shortly after became a Director serving for 12 years under 4 Presidents. Served on House and Membership committees for most of those years. Ralph convinced the powers to be to save the old 17th green during the hole reconstruction thus allowing for an extra hole { 17B } for use as a temporary hole or a practice facility.

Kevin Brown

Originally joined the Club around 2005, forced to leave due to ill health but re-joined around 2008. Kevin has worked tirelessly with the working bee group from the beginning. An experienced machine operator, Kevin has been involved with a vast number of projects, removing unwanted palm trees and re-directing our effluent are two recent instances.

Over many years Kevin has assisted the Course staff and through his efforts has saved the Club a lot of expense.

Ron Bowden

Ron participated in working bees from day one of their inception. He decided to assist the green keeping staff by driving a mower and has continued doing so over what has become many years. His actions as a volunteer has allowed greens staff to complete other tasks and has assisted the Club’s expenditure with wages savings. Ron joined the Club in 1995.

Dave Jackson

Became Treasurer in 1992 and remained in that position until 2011/12.  Re-elected in 2015 and is currently still Treasurer in 2019/20.  Is a current life member for services to SPGC


Rosemary Irving

President 1994, 1995 and 1996

Joan Irving

President 1967, 1986, 1987

Captain 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984

Club Champion 1969, 1970, 19714, 1972, 1973, 1979

Life member

Co-organised the first South Pacific tournament

Margo Donnellan

President 1981-1985, 1988, 1989

Life Member

Pam Rainger 

Captain 1974, 1975, 1976, 1989, 1980

Elaine Clout

Captain 2005, 2006, 2011, 2012

WGGC delegate 2005, 2006, 2011, 2012

June Hassum

Member since 1978

Captain 1994, 1996

Winner of many club championships and honour board events

Dawn Booker

Joined 1970

President 1975, 1976, 1977, 1991, 1992, 1993

Dot Petrie

Member since 1996

President 2014, 2015, 2016

Co-founder of Country Week

South Pacific volunteer with Daphne Pirie PR

Anna Kazimierowicz

Member since 1997

Captain 2007, 2008

Works tirelessly for charities with cakes, jams etc

Social committee convenor

Vicki Laws

Member since 1999

Vice Captain 2014 and 2015

Club Champion 2000, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

Foursomes Champion (with partner) 2007, 2008, 2009, 201, 2011,02015,02017, 2018

Maureen Scott

Member since 1989


Julie Echin

Member since 2003

Vice Captain 2012, 2013,

Captain 2014, 2015, 2016

WGGC delegate 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Member of Board 2018/19

Tournament co-ordinator South Pacific Ladies Open Classic 2017, 2018, 2019

Pennant captain 2017, 2018, 2019

Di Potter

Member since 2005

President 2018

Captain 2008 – 2008, 2009 – 2010

Vice Captain  2007-2008, 2019  


Golf Membership

Join now for great course rates, special offers, members benefits and more...

Our Sponsors

1 Fairway Drive, Clear Island Waters
Queensland 4226 Australia

Golf Bookings (07) 5575 1666

General Enquiries (07) 5572 6088